The Redway House - Stockbridge

Disappear From It All And Be Close To Everything

Dee And Family

Most Lovely Christmas

5 of 5 Stars


We spent the most lovely Christmas at the Redway House. The home is just a few minutes away from downtown Stockbridge with its quaint restaurants and gift shops. The house situated in a beautiful territory surrounded by trees and hills has lovely decor and is comfy and cozy. We loved sitting around the fireplace while watching the snow outside. Kitchen was nicely stocked and the home was equipped with all essential amenities including washer/dryer and dishwasher. Our hosts James and Liza were truly amazing and made us feel welcome from start to finish. We already miss Liza's homebaked ginger cookies and will definitely be returning. - Dee and family


Submitted: Jan 4, 2018  Source: Evolve Vacation Rental



John M


All that and more!


5 of 5 Stars


This property has everything you can want or need in a home away. Close to GB and Storckbridge but surrounded by private wooded trails. The house has too many neat little details to even count here. The owners really thought of everything to make your stay special.

*This review was originally posted on HomeAway for a stay in December 2017


Colin C.

New Haven


Quaint, convenient & beautiful tranquility

5 of 5 Stars


The owners of this marvelous house have forgotten no amenity or convenience in this amazingly remote but conveniently located historic house in the woods. Outside there's acres of woodland to explore on the property, a sloping lawn, gardens and expansive outdoor deck. Inside the 3 bedrooms and multiple sitting and dining spaces are elegantly furnished and warmly stocked with local art and memorabilia. The kitchen is ready for preparing almost any meal. The Redway House made us feel at home and we plan to stay here again for sure!

          

Submitted: Oct 23, 2017 Stayed: Oct 2017 Source: HomeAway


Kristina P.


A Charming Historic House In A Great Location

5 of 5 Stars


James and Liza have taken great care in creating a very friendly, inviting environment where our needs as a family of five, a child and dog were met with ease and thoughtfulness. We loved our morning coffee on the deck, our dinners by candlelight and movies by the fireplace. The house had intimate rooms and comfortable gathering spaces, a private backyard and trails. We enjoyed them all and look forward to returning again.


Stayed September 2017 - Source: VRBO



Kelsey


We had an amazing visit! The house is beautiful, extremely clean and well stocked! We could not have asked for anything else!

5 of 5 Stars


Stayed September 2017 Source: Airbnb



Jerrold K.



A relaxing, perfectly situated home away from home.


5 of 5 Stars


From the minute we saw the table set for dinner with candles and wine glasses, to the relaxing deck and great garden, we felt we were sharing a special home. The location was perfect. So many special touches, like lots of charging stations. Everyone would enjoy Redway.

          

Submitted: Aug 12, 2017 Stayed: Jul 2017 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Karen F.


A Home Away from Home

5 of 5 Stars


Staying at the charming Redway House is like being a guest at a favorite relative's house. We were astonished at how well-equipped it was from the pancake griddle to the special vegetable grill pan. The rooms are even more spacious than shown in the photos and the property is immaculate. We loved having fresh herbs from the garden. The hosts are responsive to every question and send guests a comprehensive guide to the property and surrounding area before your arrival. The house is on a very quiet road but close to many Berkshire attractions. We loved every minute of our week in this lovely, well-cared for home.

Submitted: Jul 31, 2017 Stayed: Jul 2017 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Julie V.


Cozy and Cared For

5 of 5 Stars

My husband and I had a wonderful week in the Redway House. From the moment we walked into the house we felt warm and welcome, as if our every need had been anticipated and provided for. We almost expected James and Liza to tiptoe in before bedtime for turn down service and chocolates on the bed pillow, they were so thoughtful. (Don't worry, though, they will completely respect your privacy.) They made staying there very easy. We had plenty of room, and could have easily had 6 people stay in the house (We thought some of our kids would be joining us but they couldn't so we had the house to ourselves.) We were close to everything -- Stockbridge, Lenox, Great Barrington and and saw plenty of live theater, movies, had some great lake swims, dinners out and ice cream. The Norman Rockwell Museum was a short drive and a great visit. We were also fascinated by the Redway family history (There is a book about the family's 300+ year history in America in the house) and it made staying in the house feel as though we were very connected to American history, yet we had all the modern conveniences. It was also neat to be surrounded by Jim's handmade furniture. This is a very special property whose owners dote on it and doted on us. Enjoy!

Submitted: Jul 17, 2017 Stayed: Jul 2017 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway



Debbie R.


The house is amazing, it is very clean and while it is historic, it has the modern conveniences.

5 of 5 Stars

I would recommend this property to families, couples and singles. A nice getaway to relax and and enjoy the peace and quiet.

Submitted: May 16, 2017 Stayed: May 2017 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway



Debbie R.


It is an amazing property

5 of 5 Stars

We had a great experience at the Redway house. I would highly recommend a stay there. The owners were fantastic and so very accommodating. Would definitely stay there again.

Submitted: May 16, 2017 Stayed: May 2017 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway



Kimberley V.


Absolutely beautiful, serene, and comfortable!

5 of 5 Stars

We will definitely be staying here again! This house is amazing! It has so much charm and every comfort you can think of! The owners even provide keurig cups for you to use, a very cool icemaker, plus a ton of spices, paper towels, and toilet paper, dishwasher soap, laundry detergent, and even a complementary bathing kit! The house was immaculate and the kitchen appliances were new and up to date. You could tell that the owners took great time and care thinking about what their tenants would want. I loved the welcome book with their family story. It was dog and kid friendly, and our family had such a fabulous time! We went skiing at Butternut (our favorite ski resort), and we had 2 great dinners. We went to Once Upon a Table, which was fabulous. Great food and service. We also had take out sushi from Shiro which was also very good. We love this area!

Submitted: Feb 21, 2017 Stayed: Feb 2017 Source: HomeAway



Nancy S.


Lovely weekend getaway

5 of 5 Stars

This is a lovely house and was perfect for 5 adults. The house is rustic and situated in a remote, beautiful part of the Berkshires, yet close to Stockbridge, the Norman Rockwell museum and other sites. It was toasty warm and we had a warm fire in the cozy living room at night. The house was very clean and the owners give you lots of information about the local area to help plan your stay. We will definitely visit again.

Submitted: Jan 16, 2017 Stayed: Jan 2017 Source: HomeAway



Charles F.


Amazing Family Getaway . . . Exceeding All Expectations!

5 of 5 Stars

My wife and I were looking for a long weekend getaway to ring in the New Year. We wanted something simple, not too far from home, near outdoor activities, and pet friendly, so we booked the Redway House for 3 nights.

To say that our experience at the Redway House exceeded our expectations is an understatement. This property is INCREDIBLE. The acreage is beautiful (with tons of hiking), the house is charming (much bigger inside than it looks), and owners have stocked it with every convenience you would see in a 5 star hotel (I never expected USB ports throughout the first floor of a the house).

Not only is it a tremendous property, but the location is terrific. It was less than 3 hours our home in NJ and I minutes away from both West Stockbridge and Stockbridge and both towns have a lot to offer.

This is an amazing getaway for a family. We look forward to going back!

Submitted: Jan 3, 2017 Stayed: Dec 2016 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway



Marcie S.


Quintessential New England

5 of 5 Stars

I can't say enough wonderful things about the Redway House. This was the perfect getaway for my mothers 70th birthday. We stayed two nights over Columbus Day weekend. The Redway is cozy and comfortable, fully stocked with everything you may need. THe owners are available with any questions you may have and also communicated with us as to when we could get to the house...early!! Perfect location for a quiet weekend from sitting on the deck in the evening listening to the owls or a leisurely stroll downtown in the shops and for a couple drinks. The home itself, what can we say? We didn't want to leave. The furniture is beautiful and I cannot say enough about how comfortable every single bed in the house was, I didn't want to get out of it in the morning. I cannot wait for my next trip to the Redway house. You will not be disappointed by staying at this fantastic home. Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing your family gem with the rest of us.

Submitted: Oct 16, 2016 Stayed: Oct 2016 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Teresa L.


Quaint, Cozy, Convenient, and Impeccably Clean!

5 of 5 Stars


Quaint, Cozy, Convenient, and Impeccably Clean!

Teresa: We stayed 2 nights, ladies get-a-way weekend Oct 1, 2016

So when I say amazing......I mean everything about this home was amazing. Perfectly located to everything you might want to do in the area of Stockbridge. It was wonderful, at the end of the day, to return to a quiet, quaint and comfortable home. I've stayed in many VRBO homes and this place was for sure one of the best!

The kitchen, well stocked with top quality cooking items, cleaning products, dishes, paper products and good coffee! The beds were extremely comfortable with high quality linens and pillows! Both bathrooms were impeccably clean and the shower head in the upstairs shower rocked! There were plenty of towels and extra linens. The living room furniture was so comfortable, in good condition, and there was plenty of space in the nooks and crannies of the home to sit in if you wanted quiet by yourself.

It rained most of the weekend while we were there so the fire place was appreciated. However, if there when it's nice outside, the patio had great furniture and the yard and gardens were a pleasure to look at. The "little touches" were endless. We were truly challenged with the decision of "staying in" and enjoying all the home had to offer or get out and take part in all the surrounding area had to offer!

I did not have the pleasure of meeting the owners in person but our communications through email and the packeted information that was waiting upon my arrival provided me with all the information I needed to be comfortable and navigate the property. Honestly, I can not say enough positive regarding this property. I will certainly return!

Submitted: Oct 4, 2016 Stayed: Sep 2016 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway



Ken P.


Peaceful Berkshires Retreat

5 of 5 Stars

The Redway house is a beautiful and historic home situated in the woods between Stockbridge and West Stockbridge, both of which are an easy 5 minute drive away. We were looking for a last minute Labor Day escape from Manhattan with our two dogs. Luckily Redway House was available! The house had everything we needed for a comfortable stay -- including super comfy beds. We cooked on the grill out back the entire weekend and the house is stocked with most everything you need, including fresh herbs from the garden. Redway House was the peaceful retreat from the city that we were hoping for.

Submitted: Sep 9, 2016 Stayed: Sep 2016 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway



Judith H.


Picture Perfect

5 of 5 Stars

Wonderful homestead nestled in the woods. Private acreage to explore. And yet so close to Tanglewood, botanical garden, Norman Rockwell. A little bit of everything. House has everything you could need and even a little herb garden to enjoy.

Submitted: Sep 6, 2016 Stayed: Aug 2016 Source: HomeAwa


Shelley M.


Peaceful and convenient!

5 of 5 Stars

We had a wonderful 9-night stay at the Redway House. From the peace and quiet of the location to the extremely well-equipped kitchen and charming dining room and from the pleasant deck overlooking a sloping lawn to the comfortable bedrooms upstairs, we really enjoyed this well-maintained colonial house. We also loved its convenience to everything: a few minutes to the Norman Rockwell and Botanical Gardens, a short drive to West Stockbridge, Stockbridge, Lenox and Great Barrington. The location couldn't be better. The owner was so responsive and helpful with every question we had and very interested in hearing ways to make improvements, no matter how small. We took advantage of the Berkshire cultural attractions: Tanglewood, Jacob's Pillow, Mass MOCA, the Mount and music at Castle Street. I only regret that we didn't discover the trails on the property until the last day--but next time we visit, we will definitely explore those. We are already talking about our next visit!

Submitted: Sep 4, 2016 Stayed: Aug 2016 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway



Denise L.


SUMMERTIME SANCTUARY

5 of 5 Stars

We enjoyed 3 nights at the Redway House. While we enjoyed Stockbridge quite a bit with theatre, dining, and the Rockwell Museum, but our favorite aspect of the stay was hanging on the deck mornings and evenings and watching our dog Pepper run on the huge backyard. The bedrooms were clean, cool, and comfortable. The kitchen was perfect and cooking was a dream, and the complimentary coffee was awesome. Thank you Redway Family.

Submitted: Aug 9, 2016 Stayed: Aug 2016 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway



Anonymous

Florida

The Redway House In Stockbridge

5 of 5 Stars

Beautiful! A special treat for us. You can feel the love of family and reverence to that heritage in every room. Thank you!

Submitted: Aug 6, 2016 Stayed: Jul 2016 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Anonymous

Wyckoff, NJ

The Redway House - Stockbridge

5 of 5 Stars

We spent 4 fantastic days at the Redway House. The house was clean, comfortable and the location was perfect. We were able to bring our dogs, which was fantastic!!

The deck is beautiful overlooking amazing property!! A great time was had by us all!! Thank you to the Redway Family!!

Submitted: Aug 3, 2016 Stayed: Jul 2016 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Did you find this review helpful?



Sarah C.


Redway House

5 of 5 Stars

The house was perfectly decorated and was convenient. Usually, when I see convenient listed in a description, it means close to the highway and miserable. Not so at this lovely house-- You are nestled in a side road only locals travel down, and you have no traffic to fight to get to the Norman Rockwell museum or the Berkshire Botanical Garden (4-5 minutes, tops). You're also a convenient drive to Tanglewood (It took us only 20 minutes to drive and park, and that included the well known pre-show traffic). Additionally, you can hike the 114 acres on this property, which we did with our young child and our dog.

However, the most delightful part of this house is the history, the attention to detail, and the care the owners take with the property and the welcome that they give. I did not meet them personally, only through email, but as you communicate by email and then walk through the house, you can feel the care and warmth they have for their guests. A few examples: when we arrived the table was set for all of us, when we were thinking we should have brought our cooler to go out to Tanglewood, we found a cooler with blue ice and a blanket all set to go at the house, finally, when we were tired at the end of the day, we found a great set of historic books to browse in the library while we put up our feet and sipped wine at Liza's wine sipping table. Details!

I highly recommend this property for a trip to the Berkshires. Hopefully, after I write this heartfelt and glowing recommendation, I can still manage to slip in to this summer rental next year and not find it booked solid!

Submitted: Jun 27, 2016 Stayed: Jun 2016 Source: VRBO, from HomeAwa


Traci S.


Peaceful, well-appointed home - will rent again

5 of 5 Stars

We enjoyed our stay in this peaceful, well-appointed home surrounded by tall trees. Our daughter played with the hose in the yard, singing and dancing happily, when we weren't seeing art museums, shopping in town, or exploring the Stockbridge bowl. We ate breakfast out on the patio in the morning sunshine and, in the evening, grilled steaks for dinner. The house is close enough to town and yet situated in a lush and private expanse of woods. The landlord was gracious and responsive, a pleasure to communicate with. We will rent here again.

Submitted: Jun 21, 2016 Stayed: Jun 2016 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway